The Great Outdoors

The Great Outdoors (1988)

The Great Outdoors (1988)

Sam – I remembered a few things from seeing this as a youngin;

1 – The scene with Dan Aykroyd nose hair clipping (though I thought it was with something electrical).

2 – The raccoons.

3 – The super hot scene with the pool cue sliding between that townie’s legs.

4 – The bat.

Only one of those I think of during my Sam alone-time.  Okay, not true, I usually combine the raccoons and bat in a super kinky animal smoregy.  I don’t like smores.  I don’t care for marshmallows, really. I don’t see the need for them.  I’ll just take the chocolate and graham crackers please.  Oh, maybe I could substitute peanut butter for marshmallow on mine.  If people were asked to either give up cheese or peanut butter for the rest of their life no one would probably say they’d give up cheese for the rest of their life UNLESS they were eating peanut butter at the time.  It’s easy to forget how awesome peanut butter is.  For me it’s a decision that I have yet to make, and hope that I’m never forced to.  I have had peanut butter and cream cheese together on a cracker before and I really really liked it.  John Candy was fat but now he’s dead.

Tim – Were I some kind of film studies major, I believe my thesis would be about the National Lampoon School of film, of which this movie is undeniably part of. Consider: Chicagoan family, goofball uncle, teen son, hot mom, vacation hi jinks and bald, bear ass. Take that, French New Wave.

Josh – N/A

Things said during movie (not-review):

“This came out in 1988. What year were you born, Joe?” – Sam

“1988.” – Joe

Published in: on June 18, 2009 at 4:28 pm  Comments Off on The Great Outdoors  
Tags: , , , ,