The Ringer

The Ringer 2005

The Ringer 2005

Sam – I was always very nervous to see this movie.  But this is the second time I’ve seen it in this TBS time slot, though the first time it’s been on since the conception of this blog, and it’s only slightly embarrassing to watch now.  Why does anyone let Johnny Knoxville act?  He’s good at what he does; being stylish and hurting himself.  Why give him a script?

The movie ends with some sort of celebratory concert that features The Kids of Widney High.  Liz and I went to the Good Bye Sober Day concert on New Years Eve 1999 in San Francisco to see Mr. Bungle, Fantomas and the Melvins.  The Kids of Widney High opened the night and was one of the most memorable concerts I’ve ever seen.  Will always remember that lead singer with his “2000” novelty glasses thrusting his head past his microphone.  That show was amazing, one of the best nights of our collective lives.  We picked up a KROQ Christmas compilation cd because it had a KoWH song, and as it turns out, one of the other songs on that compilation became one of my favorite songs ever.  It’s called Sometimes You Have to Work on Christmas (Sometimes) by Harvey Danger.  It just so happens that the drummer for Harvey Danger at the time that song was recorded is sitting right in front of me as I type this.  And now it looks like the world is about to end outside.  Thanks, The Ringer.

Tim – I did not see this film, but I have seen the South Park episode with the very similar storyline, many times. I’m not judging. Similar ideas happen all the time, and occasionally Sam experiences some kind of infinite loop that ties down syndrome to the end of the world.

Josh – N/A

Things said during movie (not-review):

“What is Yaz?” – Evan

“Great! Now they’re going to have to release an ad explaining this ad!” – Sam

One Comment

  1. […] Ringer (repeat) Boooooo! Published […]


Comments are closed.

