Feeling Minnesota

Feeling Minnesota (1996)

Feeling Minnesota (1996)

Sam – I got up feeling so down today and was hoping for a good (non-rerun) movie.  I turned it on and even though it starred Keanu and Cameron (and I felt a bit as if TBS sold out) I kept the movie rolling.  But honestly the story’s getting old now and it’s almost as if I just looked in the mirror and… things aren’t looking so good.  So now you know, I am the one who gets mystified when they show me the “power child” in movies, though I’d like to say that I’m down on my knees today BEGGING for a comedy instead of these relationship drama movies.  It actually gives me the butterflies and sort of gives me away when I’m sad and I get to watch an old-ish comedy.  At least until I’m up on my feet again.  I don’t know, I guess I’m just feeling outshined in the whole “review” thing.  Someone really should let the big dogs out of Hollywood and just show you where the truth is. There are so many good movies without a Hollywood budget, but I guess the grass is always greener where the indie movie dogs are shedding the stigma of big budgets.   Honestly now I’m sorta feeling that I’m sober now, after the movie is over, though I’m drinking.   But truth be told this movie made me realize that as a reviewer I can’t get any lower though every day that I come in this office and turn on the TV to see what TBS has in store for me I feel as though I AM sinking.  There are a few gems here and there, but this movie was not one of them.  So now you know what ACTUALLY gets me mystified with these movies where it’s not worth watching (IRBW) yet it’s not even bad enough to put into the “Worst IRBW Movie category”, which in itself is depressing.  I’m feeling outshined by Tim’s reviews lately.  And I’m sure even though my reviews look “California” to those of you that don’t know me, trust me, I’m actually, feeling Minnesota…  Oh yeah!

Tim – The older I get the more the line “Looking California and Feeling Minnesota” means “Looking shiny and good in print but actually desperately unhappy and strung out because I’m not getting any more work so I haven’t eaten anything but wheat grass and diet pills in three weeks, and feeling cold but surrounded by beautiful scenery and forward thinking Midwestern liberals.”  Anyway, a sort of jumbled movie which suffers from having Courtney Love in a cameo, and trying to present Keanu Reeves as a Minnesotan.

Josh – N/A

Things said during movie (not-review):

“I wish that squirrel was wearing a hat.”

One Comment

  1. Tis true, the K-man will never pass as a resident of this rather kick ass state. I think you should read this to see “feeling Minnesota” in a new light. http://littlejunkies.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/minnesota/

    Besides your one sentence review at the end was pretty good. Verbosity is overrated.


Comments are closed.

